Nose to Tail Fortnight

30 Apr

Nose to Tail Fortnight is something taking place across London restaurants from TODAY until Sunday 13th May. It’s encouraging people to eat the whole animals. Different restaurants have bought whole animals to cook all of, or are doing special tasting menus. This is its first year, so its not spread country-wide. it is run by Ethical Eats, who are a London food network so I guess it figures. However, I don’t feel like I could ignore it at this stage in my offal-eating world. So.

I am going to attempt t eat my way along the animal. In two weeks. Only using less used cuts and offal. Can it be done?

I should say I’m going to start from the tail up. That is because I forgot what the fortnight was, got some veal tail out the freezer, then realised. So tail forwards it is. I’ve got trotters for tomorrow. I’M GOING TO TRY AND SOURCE SOME TESTICLES. However, despite making a scrappy list of animal body areas, I’ve not really planned this. Lucy, not planning soemthing down to the last detail? What sorcery is that?

This is how I am going to track my progress. It is not species specific:

Take up the gauntlet yourselves and buy and cook some offal these first two weeks of May!

One Response to “Nose to Tail Fortnight”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Veal Tail Risotto – Nose to Tail Fortnight Day 1 « offallygood - May 1, 2012

    [...] if you read this previous post, you’ll know I’m eating my way along the animal this fortnight, beginning at the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 440 other followers

