Down to business …

9 Jan

Yes, that’s correct. I tackled the haggis. I am indeed a brave lady. My haggis-involvement was not purposeful though. I went for a run with my friend and then we went to Asda where I bought two brassieres for £1 each and then turned my thoughts to dinner.

Now Asda (it may just be the Holt Park one) is woefully short on the offal. I was slightly despairing that for a quick dinner I would have to get a £1 veggie lasagne, but then the reduced section came to my rescue.

Whoops indeed, Asda! I’ve never cooked Haggis. I’ve eaten it before – drunk at Burns Night Parties and I have ogled over this recipe from my friend RockSalt! You should totally check her things here. So this was indeed a new step for me. I checked it was indeed offal and was gratified to see the first two ingredients as pork lungs and pork liver. Excellent! It even looked a bit Scottish, what with the artfully placed thistles and all:

The instructions for cooking were on the back and as I had neither time nor inclination to steam or boil my haggis, I microwaved it, like what ye clansmen of Olde Bravehearte did. You take the filling out the fake bladder and blast it for five minutes, stirring half-way through. It tasted just like the drunk boiled ones I’d eaten before.

What you may not suspect is that a 454g haggis is actually a lot of haggis. I ate maybe a fifth. There’s still some in the fridge now. I’m intending to use it in exciting ways – maybe even Scotch egg it? All Scottish people (like Stephen Hendry) may know this, but haggis on toast is delicious. I did not.

I got  fancy and fried some leeks to go with it and my toast was from a really good baker in Headingley on North Lane just next to the vintage shop next to what was Oddbins. It is small and nice. I put some redcurrants on top and their sharpness cuts through the haggis, which was (whether due to amount plated or brand bought) a bit cloying.

But yes, first proper offal dinner at home done. Win.

3 Responses to “Down to business …”

  1. rocksaltuk January 9, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Hooray for haggis! A few suggestions for using the rest up are: haggis samosas, haggis lasagne, haggis shepherd’s pie, baked potato and haggis or the classic haggis, mashed turnip and mashed potatoes (neeps and tatties), with an optional whisky sauce. Congratulations on your successful microwaving – I once shared a flat with a guy who tried to microwave it in the packet. Cue haggis explosion. I feel like I might have over-used the word haggis now.

    • Darren Driver January 9, 2012 at 11:20 am #

      haggis

  2. burnyourbones February 6, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

    Haggis is also really good for stuffing things, such as like a game bird for example, since you aren’t going to be having chicken. I bet it would be great in lasagne too.
    I bloody love haggis.

Leave a Reply

