Oxtail Soup – the Heinz Kind

11 Jun

Sometimes you just need an offal quick-fix.

This is my go-to for that. it contains 3% oxtail, so it’s not the most oxtailful of oxtail soups, but it does hit the spot. You can also buy it in lots of supermarkets. And it comes in two sizes. The smaller size is shown above.

What I’m really meaning to say is that offal doesn’t have to be complicated. There are very easy and simple things you can buy. The ox tail soup is one of them.

I really like it with some sourdough toast. I always have a tin or two in my cupboard (just in case).

Apparently a few years ago Heinz did a tinned kidney soup too. There is a mixture of love and hate on the internet about it. Yahoo links you to this recipe for it which I’ll probably try and copy when I’m feeling energetic. I also enjoyed this one from Ron. Maybe with enough pressure more offal soups will return! Maybe you could make an uber kidney soup with lots of species? I’ll write to Covent Garden Soup about it – I saw an carton in the supermarket today that was cheese and piccalilli soup. To me, kidney sounds a bit more tasty …

Did you have to eat tinned kidney soup? Can you buy it where you live? Am I the odd one out in preferring kidney to piccalilli soup?

While I’m on the soup subject*, get in on the Baxters Royal Game Soup action. Its VERY DELICIOUS. My housemate adds a can of Spam to it for extra meaty action. (That is however, a step too far for me.)

 

*I’ve not been sponsored, don’t worry. I am above selling myself to The Man. If The Man is feeling generous then I’m happy to accept sponsorship to my half marathon http://beatms.mssociety.org.uk/netcommunity/lucymooreruns – that’s you Heinz and Baxters!

4 Responses to “Oxtail Soup – the Heinz Kind”

  1. Juls June 12, 2012 at 6:07 am #

    I like both kidney and piccalilli. Both may be smelly in their preparation but both serve more than adequately their different purposes. That being said, I can’t say I would buy a cheese and piccalilli soup – wouldn’t it just be a chunky, sour cheese sauce?? My Oma made a fantastic kidney soup though but she was a sly one that never wanted anyone to be able to cook as well as her so when she gave out recipes she would deliberately leave out ingredients and now she is no longer with us so we just have hundreds of deliberately altered recipes and nothing to show for them!

    • offallygood June 12, 2012 at 7:22 am #

      Families are funny like that – my great-grandpa made an All-bran pudding that cannot be replicated … he “wrote it down” but it was in code!
      Clearly piccaclilli and kidney is the soup we’re aiming for? Or more better a devilled kidney soup?

      • Juls June 12, 2012 at 7:25 am #

        Strangely piccalilli and kidney sounds pretty steller. Though perhaps not in a soup.

      • Libby June 21, 2012 at 10:08 am #

        I think I can remember the all-bran pudding recipe, shall we give it a go when you next come to Norfolk? Let me know so I can get the bran.

Leave a Reply

