Foodie Penpals the Fourth!

28 Jun

Can you adamandeve it? I’m not sure I can. If you’re not on the foodie penpal bandwagon, you need to sign up for Rocksalt’s scheme here. This month I sent a package to Dan, is a non-blogging food person from Sheffield. My parcel came from Lisa at Sweet2Eat baking.  Lisa is very good at baking. Lisa is very good at icing. Lisa is very good at enthusing about the food-blogging community. Do go and have a look at her recipes – I’m am totally lusting over the coriander, ginger and mango cheesecake. And the Jubilee biscuits.

This is the package Lisa sent me:

What the devil did I get? Well obviously a recipe – this was for creamy bacon pasta, so I’ll need to make a bacon substitute (maybe that’s where the pig’s ears can come in?) and a lovely card …

I got some Rooibos tea (I’ll share that at work), some granola bars, some cherry biscuits, some dried cherries, and best of all two homemade things. One is Lisa’s patented hot chocolate mix. The other was two lovely sultana scones.

Lisa had wanted to put a Great British theme behind this (HER FIRST) month’s foodie penpal box. What could be more great and British than tea and scones in the garden? I just need to herbaceous borders to match now … It was especially nice to get tea and cake in a box as moment with my lovely partner have been rare this month and sitting with him in the garden was right good.

This June was too busy for me (moving house, working away a lot, sick family) so I didn’t have a chance to experiment with the recipe Lisa sent. I WILL though. I WILL.

Thank you very much, Lisa. It was a lovely thoughtful box and I hope you enjoyed your first one too!

Happy Foodiepenpalling everyone! And thank you Carol Anne for fixing us all up like a wee canny Cilla Black. Yup. Compliments are what you get here!

9 Responses to “Foodie Penpals the Fourth!”

  1. Juls June 29, 2012 at 12:39 am #

    I’m loving foodie penpals. Who wouldn’t be up for getting a box of food as a present every month? I’m totally behind you with saying that people need to disregard any reservations and go and join in. Carol Anne is going to need a hire an assistant soon!

  2. Carol Anne @ Rock Salt June 29, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    Hahaha – Cilla Black?! Wharralorralorralaffs this Foodie Penpals lark is… Juls, you could be right about me getting an assistant, it can be a busy endeavour, but seeing parcels like this make it totally worthwhile. Pig ear pasta – yes please.

    • offallygood June 29, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

      My Mum is totes excited about her sourdough too. She keeps saying how nice you must be …

  3. ediblethings June 29, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    Yup, Carol Anne is definitely going to have to get a hat or two for this!

    Those dried cherries are brilliant. I used them recently when I foolishly tried to recreate Aussie chocolate bars. http://ediblethings.net/2012/05/01/cherry-cripes-my-first-guest-post/

  4. Lisa {Sweet 2 Eat Baking} June 30, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    I’m really happy you enjoyed your box, Lucy, I had a hard time coming up with things to put in your box. I had really wanted to make you some Elderberry cordial too but ended up being ill for most of June.

    I’ve totally loved being a foodie penpals and definitely have the bug now. It’s been lovely to meet you (technically online but still) too. Let me know when you make the bacon pasta, or in your case, the pigsears pasta. Can’t wait to see whether you’ll like it what you add too since it’s pretty much interchangeable. 🙂

    • offallygood July 3, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

      Don’t worry, there’s always elder growing! Have a great time next month!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crispy Auricular Salad « offallygood - July 15, 2012

    […] off the cuff whim of buying pig’s ears might result in a pig’s ear carbonara from the Foodie Penpals Recipe … well, Crispy Pig’s Ear Salad is not that. Mostly because I kept coming across […]

  2. Foodie PenPals #1 – June 2012 - July 31, 2012

    […] I sent a parcel to Lucy at Offally Good. To see more on what I sent and Lucy’s reaction, see her blog post here. […]

  3. Foodie PenPals - June 2012 - May 3, 2013

    […] I sent a parcel to Lucy at Offally Good. To see more on what I sent and Lucy’s reaction, see her blog post here. […]

Leave a Reply

