The versatility of Cold Oxtail – part 2

18 Sep

In the part the first, we saw an ox tail ramen soup made purely from the ox tail stock. You can find that post here. It was of course concerned with the stock. Now we turn our salivating attention to the meat. Lovely, sticky, cardomanny, tamarindy meat.

The reson I decided to cook an ox tail and eat it cold was due to the paucity of cold offal snacks available to your average offaltarian. Do you ever see kidney sandwiches in the supermarket? No. Is there a liver salad waiting to be dressed in the chilled cabinet? No. I work. Sometimes I get tired of cheese sandwiches. Or tongue sandwiches (also packets of cold pressed tongue are phenomenally expensive – 75p per slice – I’m not Midas). Anyway you don’t get pre-made tongue sandwiches in Leeds.

So, to cold lunches. Salad. And ox tail. Ox tail salad. Lordy lordy! I was well addicted to ox tail salad for a while.

Here is one salad I made. I won’t insult anyone’s intelligence by telling you how to make a salad. This one was based around spinach, broad beans, oxtail and a stale packet of mixed nuts.

Here is a tupperware salad, made of spinach, coleslaw mix and ox tail.

The secret behind these salad is of course the dressing. This I will tell you about, at length and naturally in excruciating detail, for my laws on salad dressing are Gospel.

The joke is, my dressings are pretty easy. Oil (I use Neals Yard Beauty Oil) which is a blend of hemp, avocado, flax seed, pumpkin seed and evening primrose oils. I think it tastes really nice. Then I use usually either lemon or lime juice. And I’ll add maybe some garlic, or some harissa, maybe mustard!

This summer I got well into flavouring my own vinegars! The idea first came to me on the old herb course as vinegars are another traditional way to preserve the qualities of medicinal herbs. I didn’t make any medicine-grade vinegars, but I did make strawberry vinegar, thyme vinegar and honeysuckle vinegar. Now I’m adept at the vinegar-making, I’m going to make some Autumn vinegars too – bramble and elderberry are on the list.

Again, it’s another fancy thing that’s really simple to do. For the strawberry vinegar, you add some strawberries to some cider vinegar, leave it on the windowsill for a week then strain. For the honeysuckle a couple of weeks. For the thyme one month. Strain and bottle.

Ox tail salads, in their infinite variety, are IMMENSE. Next time you buy one, reserve some meat and eat it cold. Yumyumyum!

4 Responses to “The versatility of Cold Oxtail – part 2”

  1. Juls September 18, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

    That sounds like a lush salad! I might be inspired to turn my next oxtail leftovers into a cold salad (though, for the sake of my anything-green-phobic boyfriend, I may substitute the greens for puy lentils!). The broad beans in it sounds steller and I like the charm of your flavoured vinegars.

  2. Mel September 25, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    You can’t beat flavoured vinegar. I prefer my blackberry vinegar to the ubiquitous balsamic. This year I made elderflower, which is amazing. I ended up steeping it for a month by accident, and it was none the worse for it. I’m going to have a go at rosehip vinegar too this year.
    I have also been toying with buying an oxtail for a while, and this is just the kick that I need.

    • offallygood September 25, 2012 at 9:41 am #

      Thanks very much. I want to get out (if the rain stops) and get some haws and brambles for some autumn vinegars. Lovely thing to make!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The versatility of Cold Oxtail – part 3 « offallygood - September 25, 2012

    […] get experimental with cooking and cooling my own offals. The legacy of which began in posts one and two and continues […]

Leave a Reply

