Rabbit and Rosemary Ragu

3 Oct

As part of the year of the offal, rabbit (and all other game) is totally allowed. Wild animals are definitely free range, they can choose their own diet and usually death by shotgun is pretty surprising and fast. A win all round.*

Rabbit is a meat I really love, but whenever I’ve cooked with it before, I always feel like I haven’t helped it fulfill its culinary potential. A bit dry. A bit flavourless. This time, I was determined to do some good cooking and have a lovely end product. To this end I employed my slow cooker (I know I’m repetitive), to simmer the rabbit slowly, creating a delicious stock and keeping the meat moist.

Rabbity goodness. I put the rabbit (already jointed) in the slow cooker with a generous sprig of rosemary (sent by my foodie penpal) and covered it all with water. I then left it on high for 8 hours.

The next stage was to separate the stock from the meat (with the future idea of rabbit risotto), then the meat from the bones, thus creating a platter of rabbit for sandwiches and also said risotto. I did some excellent anatomy as well. Rabbits have chunky thigh bones – check out the scary spine too …

 

Primeval!

To make your rabbit ragu, it is of course simple. Cook an onion with some garlic til it is all softened. Add a teaspoon of rosemary and as much rabbit as you feel like. Add a tin of tomatoes and simmer for about twenty minutes. Cook your pasta ten minutes before, drain and serve with some tasty ragu atop!

 

 

Next time you’re buying a chicken to cook and separate, please think about doing it with a rabbit.

 

*I do recognise that sometimes the birds are injured and need their neck wringing. That is less pleasant, but still if you have a good gundog pretty fast. I would rather that than leukemia.

3 Responses to “Rabbit and Rosemary Ragu”

  1. Armchairs&Aprons October 7, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    found you while looking for a rabbit recipe that was different from my usual go to of stew, I’ve just bought a rosemary plant so it works out perfectly. I couldn’t help myself but to read through your archives, I really like what you’re doing! I’ve had a properly sustainable weekend myself, making chicken stock and braised ox tail (how did I never know ox tail was so delicious? I blame overly salty, weak, soups)

    as far as sea food goes, I think you should try whelks (which i never liked because of texture issues) and winkles (which I loved, especially pulling them out of their shells with a hat pin) on the subject of eel i know a few places make a smoked ell that’s absolutely delicious (I first had it in Orford http://www.butleyorfordoysterage.co.uk/ )
    oh and I’ve seen more Chinese restaurants (at least here in the North West) offering tripe and chicken feet and ducks tongues.

    depending on how forage-y you are crayfish would be another option, people are actively encouraged to trap them because they’re an invasive species. I think anything you forage yourself should be allowed, so if you can get to the coast mussels and other molluscs could be yours too! I’ve been meaning to try and get in touch with local people who hunt (we have a gun shop so there must be some) partly because i like the idea of hunting my own meat, partly because i hear they often have more than they need. plus i bet they don’t often keep the offal.

    last thing, we have a smokehouse who offer among other things smoked black pudding that’s very bacon-y tasting and *delicious* also, was wondering if you have plans for what you’re going to do for Christmas in the works? and would you count mutton as allowed?

    sorry for so many questions!
    Jules

    • offallygood October 12, 2012 at 6:33 am #

      Sorry to delay in replying – I’ve been internetless! Am working away but will get back very soon – your ideas are all amazing, thank you so much! x

  2. Jules October 9, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

    found you while looking for a rabbit recipe that was different from my usual go to of stew, I’ve just bought a rosemary plant so it works out perfectly. I couldn’t help myself but to read through your archives, I really like what you’re doing! I’ve had a properly sustainable weekend myself, making chicken stock and braised ox tail (how did I never know ox tail was so delicious? I blame overly salty, weak, soups)

    as far as sea food goes, I think you should try whelks (which i never liked because of texture issues) and winkles (which I loved, especially pulling them out of their shells with a hat pin) on the subject of eel i know a few places make a smoked ell that’s absolutely delicious (I first had it in Orford http://www.butleyorfordoysterage.co.uk/ )
    oh and I’ve seen more Chinese restaurants (at least here in the North West) offering tripe and chicken feet and ducks tongues.

    depending on how forage-y you are crayfish would be another option, people are actively encouraged to trap them because they’re an invasive species. I think anything you forage yourself should be allowed, so if you can get to the coast mussels and other molluscs could be yours too! I’ve been meaning to try and get in touch with local people who hunt (we have a gun shop so there must be some) partly because i like the idea of hunting my own meat, partly because i hear they often have more than they need. plus i bet they don’t often keep the offal.

    last thing, we have a smokehouse who offer among other things smoked black pudding that’s very bacon-y tasting and *delicious* also, was wondering if you have plans for what you’re going to do for Christmas in the works? and would you count mutton as allowed?

    sorry for so many questions!
    Jules

Leave a Reply

