Six weeks left!

15 Nov

I realised today that I had six weeks and four days left in my offal adventure. I’m pretty amazed that the end is drawing so close so quickly. I still have posts to write up and projects in the pipeline. I even still have offal to try! The offal freezer drawer is two thirds full still. Decisions, decisions …

What I am doing today is sharing the things I’m going to try and make in December (once I have my job applications, lectures and articles out of the way). Really I want to pick your brains, avid reader, and see if there’s anything I’ve left out.

  • BRAINS … I’m not a zombie (and I not sure I get the zombiefication of popular culture), but I do want to eat some brains. I think maybe a venison brain? If not it will have to be a pig brain.
  • PIG STOMACH: the Tripe Shop in Leeds market sells them. You’re meant to eat them dressed in salt and vinegar. That seems like ultimate offal to me. I do however, enjoy a challenge. If I eat them all can I call myself a Yorkshirewoman?*
  • CURED KIDNEY – so I am made pancetta, and am clearly now a curing goddess. I’m going to try and salt some kidney. I don’t know where that will take me, but I’m willing to find out.
  • Real MINCEMEAT. I don’t think that’s particularly offal, but it is pretty medieval. And festive. And I love Christmas. I *will* get unbearable; I like the John Lewis adverts; I own TWO Christmas jumpers (not even ironically).

What else? What else have I discussed and tweeted and forgotten to write down? What would YOU do, if you were me?
And just to get you in the mood, here’s a photo from two years ago, of me getting intimate with the YULETIDE BEEF …

 

*I would never do that. I am totes Lincolnshire, through and through.**

**I hope my insides don’t look like the inside of Lincolnshire which would be mostly brussel sprouts, sausages and illegalr migrant workers.

 

8 Responses to “Six weeks left!”

  1. soph November 16, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

    Brains in butter, a la Hannibal Lecter in Hannibal. Oh my god, nothing has made me salivate quite so much in writing (though HIS brains are human).

  2. Angry Malay Woman November 16, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    Hi, I am devoted follower of your blog and have a real love for offal. Not in the macho, extreme food kind of way, but real genuine love of alternative textures and dislike for wastage. I am surprised that you have yet to try brains. I particularly love cow’s brain cooked in spicy/creamy curry. It’s a specialty in Sumatra.

    • offallygood November 17, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

      I am too – brains are something I’ve not seen for sale – and I guess they’ve just dropped through the offal net! I’m thinking some juniper and orange festive brains?

  3. Juls November 17, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    I think only pigs and lambs brains are legal to sell in the UK – I looked into it about a year ago and it annoyed me. However if you have a hunter as a mate, I’m sure they won’t mind holdingback the grey matter for you! And I’m in love with Christmas, I am going to annoy the hell out of everyone ever with all things Christmassy.

    • offallygood November 17, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

      I promised my bf to not Christmas very much until the actual 1st December – but am doing some stealth Christmas at work xxx

  4. Daisy December 5, 2012 at 2:52 am #

    I am not sure about pig stomach but I have had beef stomach. There is a traditional Mexican soup named Menudo that is to die for!! I didn’t know about it until a few years ago but now I order it any time I see it on a menu!

    • offallygood December 5, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

      Menudo has had a lot of praise! It’ll be eaten next year, for sure. Not sure there’s time left this year x

    • offallygood January 4, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

      I’ve heard great things about Menudo!

Leave a comment