Happy New Year

4 Jan

Well, December slid by didn’t it? My last month of offaltarianism morphed (mostly) into vegetarianism. I think I just got a bit tired of being inventive. I fell back to random tomato based curries and soups. I did invent a new soup to get around the fact I couldn’t use bacon in a brussel sprouts soup – Brussel and Anchovy Soup. Much more delicious than I thought it would be!

I had two Christmas dinners: with my family in Norfolk we had a big chicken, so I had a wing (thanks Anissa); then in Leeds with my partner and his son we had sausages. Getting others to agree to an offal Christmas dinner was harder than I had anticipated! I introduced a friend to the joys of chicken liver curry (the livers marinated in pomegranate juice … mmmm mmmm), but mostly I made the most of my veg box and as it got closer to the festive season, tried to make toblerone the major component of every meal.

So what now? To be honest, I don’t really know. I have eaten only offal for a year. I have relieved my offal debt. I can return to how I was eating before?

I won’t. My whole year of experiences has made me think much much more about what I put in my body. In this flush of eating what I like, I’ve scoffed a lot of bacon and am planning KFC VERY SOON. I’m excited to roast a chicken one weekend. Once this flush is over – what then?

I did have the idea of trying to only eat meat where I knew exactly where it came from. In a way, that is so much harder than just eating offal. Questioning people? Conversing, rather than mumbling “I’ll have two kidneys please” – not sure about that. When we’ve got our shed sorted and a chest freezer purchased I do want to buy a whole/half animal and eat it across a year. Not yet though …

So Happy New Year! I’m still cogitating on my offal journey and how it will impact on the rest of my life. Please look through the archives – I’ll be adding some outstanding ones including Homemade Haggis over the coming months. Enjoy offal. It is delicious. Respect the animals by eating it too. I would be well pissed off if I was killed for my meat and then my heart was passed over – wouldn’t you?

9 Responses to “Happy New Year”

  1. ediblethings January 5, 2013 at 2:08 am #

    Happy New Year. I have enjoyed your year in offal a great deal. I’d love to hear more about your cogitation.
    I try to always know where my meat comes from, and when eating out, find that it mostly means eating vegetarian, but I don’t feel I’m missing out.
    Thanks again

    • offallygood January 29, 2013 at 7:24 pm #

      Thanks for reading and thanks for all the support.

  2. Juls January 5, 2013 at 6:24 pm #

    I’m so impressed with what you’ve managed to achieve this past year and the realisations you have come to through it all – it really is inspirational! Whatever you choose to do next, I hope we still get informed. Best of luck!

    • offallygood January 29, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

      Thanks so much Juls – you’ve been my Number 1 Internet Supporter! Good luck to you with everything too xxx

  3. Brian January 10, 2013 at 1:48 am #

    Do not despair! What you now have is what every chef wants their customers to have, and that is a realistic and healthy view of their food. I will be attempting a heart of palm that is cooked like pot eu feu and looks like a bone marrow. If successful I will send the recipe, and also a potato osso bucco made with oxtail. Both will satisfy your offal and veg cravings and I had a friend use organ meat ( I want to say sweet breads but I think it was heart, I will have to check) in the recipe as well. Keep up the great posts, and don’t give up. I introduced so many to to brains and hearts, and bones last year, and I am only getting started.

    • offallygood January 29, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

      Thanks for all the transatlantic support Brian! You’re the inspiration! But how do I cook the bull’s penis in my freezer?

      • Brian February 5, 2013 at 4:22 pm #

        With great care, no seriously let me get back to you on that. Spain is the best place to look for good recipes on that organ, as they have a few left over during the bullfighting season as the testes are the most requested dish. They throw nothing away and have to have a good dish for that.

  4. NorthernMonkeyGirl January 15, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

    I’ve been through the whole blog today (it’s snowing, and I read fast…) and am very impressed! Also slightly annoyed that all the good stuff is happening in the city now I’m no longer there. But I now have new bookmarked sites for offal and dried blood, what more could a girl ask for? PS – Arthur reminded me of my attempt at brawn. I got pre-chopped pieces of head, and yes the brain is rather tasty!

    • offallygood January 29, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

      Thanks so much for reading and the encouragement. I’m glad you feel inspired! Blood is good!

Leave a comment